Osmani Hernandez Rosales
Calle Habana 106 upstairs, e/Cuarteles y Chacon, steps from Trattoria 5 Esquinas restaurant and two blocks from Museo de la Revolucion in Zone 1 or map below. Tel. (7) 866-2607 cel 52 64 76 73

VITRALES | | Habana Vieja
In this "colonial type" building with its flamboyant facade on sometimes quiet-er but always narrow calle Habana, up one floor resides a fine example of renovation, taste in decoration and hospitality ŕ la young and trendy habanera boutique hostal

Since we visited and took some pictures in 2009, the per-room nightly rates have tripled, going from 30 to 100cuc or 80 pounds sterling (108CUC) - to be deposited in an HSBC bank account before arrival.

Is it worth it ? You be the judge : read some comments on Trip Advisor.
If hundreds of La Habana casa owners can offer similar quality for much less, be it.

The difference sometimes is a matter of image which matters most to some who prefer the atmosphere of a hostal (a small hotel) and can do away with the perceived obligation of maintaining a conversation with a family. This somewhat impersonal form of lodging is avoided by others who prefer natural, personal, family-like, homey and genuine casa lodging with less patina and more alma.

Osmani named and decorated his casa so that it would fit the label Bed & Breakfast Boutique. He offers nine large bedrooms, of which "Superior" Suite and "Junior" suites and three standard bedrooms meticulously and tastefully decorated.

The newer ones are up the main floor (one staircase from street level) and others are behind the living room and adjacent to the dining room / kitchen at the rear which opens onto a narrow pedestrian lane, Espada - separating the casa from the Iglesia del San Angel Custodio.

Some local Habaneros remember that pedestrian street as the set of a famous TV series.

Rates : (as per note sent to prospective guests, May 2018)
"80,00 Pounds Sterling (GBP) per night each room. Breakfast is included

Suites facilities
Private bathroom, queen size bed, air conditioning and minibar.

We offer breakfast prepared with natural juices, seasonal fruit, cheese, eggs, bread, butter, coffee and milk. Dinner can be arranged based on local cuisine and will be charged separately.

For your comfort and secutiry the access to guestroom floors are restricted to guests only.

To confirm the booking you have to make a deposit of a 100 % of the booking on this account: HSBC BANK
VITRALES | | Habana Vieja

VITRALES | | Habana Vieja
VITRALES | | Habana Vieja
VITRALES | | Habana Vieja

VITRALES | | Habana Vieja
VITRALES | | Habana Vieja
Superb casa ... but a little expensive
"The casa is superb, decorated with good taste. The rooms also. The breakfast is varied, hearty and served quickly The staff is attentive and available, ready to help.

Only downside: the price, high +/- 100 EUR the night in February for a regular double room (not even the suite)." gregou-carlos, corcieux, france 280218, tripad visor

VITRALES | | Habana Vieja
VITRALES | | Habana Vieja

VITRALES | | Habana Vieja
VITRALES | | Habana Vieja VITRALES | | Habana Vieja
VITRALES | | Habana Vieja

"Dark street full of trash and cockroaches. The house has large rooms but they reek of mold, there are wires uncovered and the air conditioning does not work, it always hangs. The Wi-Fi does not work, the breakfast is always the same with fruit not always fresh that causes stomach pains. The cutlery is left in the open air on the terrace within reach of flies and various insects.

On the terrace which should be a place of relaxation you can not relax because a neighbor who is always drunk is screaming at you in a bad way.


... Serious note! The administrator Osmany made me repay the deposit I had sent from Italy saying he had not received it, threatening that if I did not pay it, I would lose my reservation. This is very serious, considering that both my bank and his in London had confirmed the payment.

High prices considering that 100 cuc per night is the cost in a 4-star hotel. On the last day, exhausted by the air conditioning that did not work, I stayed in another casa : it was much more comfortable and clean at less than half the price.

The only good quality of Casa Vitrales are the underpaid waiters (Gustavo, Marlon and Judy) for the rest is really a nightmare that I do not wish on anyone!" Lello92, tripad visor 111017

Response from Osmani :

Dear guest,

We are sorry about your experience in Havana. Regarding your stay at Casa Vitrales:

. You were properly informed with continuous messages via email about the issue on the deposit and instructions were given ahead of your arrival.

. All air conditioner equipments are new and we always check it for the comfort of our guests.

. We do our best to offer season fresh fruits during the breakfast: it was a challenge as Irma hurricane reached Cuba during the period of your stay.

We were particularly surprised with your feedback as you asked to extend your stay with us for 5 nights more, appreciating our breakfast and 2 dinners that were offered.

We have tried to do our best offering the best service despite the natural catastrophe. Hope you understand.

Kind regards,

Osmani, Owner
Casa Vitrales B&B Boutique

VITRALES | | Habana Vieja

VITRALES | | Habana Vieja

VITRALES | | Habana Vieja
Great location to explore Havana Vieja
"Casa Vitrales is located in the North West of Havana Vieja and as such is less potentially manic than the centre of the old town.

However from here it is only a few blocks south and east to get to most of the attractions.

If you have a car you can park in the street but it is quite narrow and a better place is the car park just below the Museum of the Revolution.

This is a 2 minute walk away. Park alongside classic Cadillacs and Chevrolets waiting to take you for a trip round town. Parking costs about 8 pesos per day, but it has a 24 hour security guard.

The Casa itself is in a restored colonial era building on quite a few floors. Our rooms were spacious with high ceilings. Each had air conditioning ( you need it), and a mini bar. Bathrooms were modern and functioned perfectly.

Shaded roof terrace for substantial breakfast or just sitting up there in the sunshine reading, sunbathing or just soaking up the atmosphere.

Lovely staff, the manager speaks English very well and has local knowledge of course He can book you a classic car trip around the town or book a restaurant, besides being a very pleasant, friendly and helpful man. Really outstanding value this place. They will do laundry for you.

There is a pizza restaurant 25 yards up the road which is really good and a place called Habana 61 only a few yards further.

This was an outstandingly good value restaurant and the food was incredibly creative and delicious. You can have quite a blow out for 30 pesos a head.

Overall an ideal place for exploration of the old town on foot." Simon K, Islip, UK, 27 April 2018, tripad visor
VITRALES | | Habana Vieja
VITRALES | | Habana Vieja

Photos © sogestour + + jwhitehouse, tripad visor

Updated 02.05.2018